North America is a continent wholly within the western and northern hemispheres. It is also considered a northern subcontinent of the Americas. It is bordered on the north by the Arctic Ocean on the east by the North Atlantic Ocean on the south and southeast by South America and the Caribbean Sea and on the west by the North Pacific Ocean.