Italy officially the Italian Republic is a unitary parliamentary republic in south-central Europe. To the north it borders France Switzerland Austria and Slovenia along the Alps. To the south it consists of the entirety of the Italian Peninsula Sicily Sardinia—the two largest islands in the Mediterranean Sea—and many other smaller islands. The independent states of San Marino and the Vatican City are enclaves within Italy whilst Campione d'Italia is an Italian exclave in Switzerland.