Indonesia officially the Republic of Indonesia is a country in Southeast Asia and Oceania. Indonesia comprises 13 466 islands and thirty three provinces. With over 238 million people it is the world's fourth most populous country and has the world's largest population of Muslims. Indonesia is a republic with an elected legislature and president. The nation's capital city is Jakarta. The country shares land borders with Papua New Guinea East Timor and Malaysia.