The Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste commonly known as East Timor is a state in Southeast Asia. It comprises the eastern half of the island of Timor the nearby islands of Atauro and Jaco and Oecusse an exclave on the northwestern side of the island within Indonesian West Timor. The small country of 15 410 kmĀ² (5 400 sq mi) is located about 640 km (400 mi) northwest of Darwin Australia.