Sweden officially the Kingdom of Sweden is a Nordic country on the Scandinavian Peninsula in Northern Europe. Sweden shares borders with Norway to the west and Finland to the east and is connected to Denmark by the ├śresund Bridge. At 450 295 square kilometres (173 860 sq mi) Sweden is the third largest country in the European Union by area with a total population of approximately 9.4 million.