'Spain officially the Kingdom of Spain is a country and member state of the European Union located in southwestern Europe on the Iberian Peninsula. Its mainland is bordered to the south and east by the Mediterranean Sea except for a small land boundary with the British Overseas Territory of Gibraltar; to the north by France Andorra and the Bay of Biscay; and to the northwest and west by the Atlantic Ocean and Portugal.