Russia officially known as both Russia and the Russian Federation is a country in northern Eurasia. It is a federal semi-presidential republic comprising 83 federal subjects. From northwest to southeast Russia shares borders with Norway Finland Estonia Latvia Lithuania and Poland Belarus Ukraine Georgia Azerbaijan Kazakhstan the People's Republic of China Mongolia and North Korea.