The Netherlands is a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands located mainly in North-West Europe with land in the Caribbean. Mainland Netherlands borders the North Sea to the north and west Belgium to the south and Germany to the east and shares maritime borders with Belgium Germany and the United Kingdom. It is a parliamentary democracy organised as a unitary state. The country capital is Amsterdam and the seat of government is The Hague.