Lithuania officially the Republic of Lithuania is a country in Northern Europe the biggest of the three Baltic states. It is situated along the southeastern shore of the Baltic Sea and across the Baltic Sea to the west lie Sweden Norway and Denmark. It shares borders with Latvia to the north Belarus to the southeast and Poland to the southwest. Its population is 3.2 million. Its capital and largest city is Vilnius.