Lesotho officially the Kingdom of Lesotho is a landlocked country and enclave surrounded by the Republic of South Africa. It is just over 30 000 km (11 583 sq mi) in size with a population of approximately 2 067 000. Its capital and largest city is Maseru. Lesotho is a member of the Commonwealth of Nations. The name Lesotho translates roughly into the land of the people who speak Sesotho. About 40% of the population live below the international poverty line of US$1.25 a day.