Inner Mongolia is an autonomous region of the People's Republic of China located in the northern region of the country. Inner Mongolia shares an international border with the countries of Mongolia and the Russian Federation. Its capital is Hohhot and the largest city is Baotou. Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region was established in 1947 on the area of former Republic of China provinces of Suiyuan Chahar Rehe Liaopeh and Hsingan.