Greece also known as Hellas and officially the Hellenic Republic is a country in southeastern Europe. Greece has land borders with Albania the Republic of Macedonia and Bulgaria to the north and Turkey to the east. The Aegean Sea lies to the east of mainland Greece the Ionian Sea to the west and the Mediterranean Sea to the south.