Estonia officially the Republic of Estonia is a state in the Baltic region of Northern Europe. It is bordered to the north by the Gulf of Finland to the west by the Baltic Sea to the south by Latvia (343 km) and to the east by the Lake Peipsi and the Russian Federation (338.6 km). Across the Baltic Sea lies Sweden in the west and Finland in the north. The territory of Estonia covers 45 227 km and is influenced by a temperate seasonal climate.