Austria officially the Republic of Austria is a landlocked country of roughly 8.4 million people in Central Europe. It is bordered by the Czech Republic and Germany to the north Slovakia and Hungary to the east Slovenia and Italy to the south and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west. The territory of Austria covers 83 855 square kilometres (32 377 sq mi) and has a temperate and alpine climate.