Albania officially known as the Republic of Albania is a country in Southeast Europe in the Balkans region. It is bordered by Montenegro to the northwest Kosovo to the northeast the Republic of Macedonia to the east and Greece to the south and southeast. It has a coast on the Adriatic Sea to the west and on the Ionian Sea to the southwest. It is less than 72 km (45 mi) from Italy across the Strait of Otranto which links the Adriatic Sea to the Ionian Sea.